25 for 25: Third Floor Fish Cafe

March 16, 2007

I dined at the 3rd Floor Third Cafe many times for business.  It’s a great place to take partners that are visiting us for a few days.

Last night we went for the 25 for $25 dinner with friends. 

Bottom line:  the Fish Cafe has a “special” 30$ menu most of the year.  I would highly recommend to go for that one and not the 25$ one.  Don’t get me wrong,  the 25$ is still pretty good…it’s just not as good as the other one.   The major difference is that the 30$ menu is a subset of the regular menu  and the 25$ has different dishes (and no…that’s not a good thing).

One thing I really liked is that the special menu is easy to “discover”. The Fish Cafe gives you the 25$ menu along with the regular menu.  That’s very good.

Appetizers – I would give it a 6/10.  There’s really nothing special (shrimp cocktail, gyoza or a salad).  Yeah…they are good, but I could just have it at home!

Main – I would give it a 7/10.  The selection is limited to pasta with seafood creme sauce, lamb shank and something else.  We had the lamb and the pasta.  The lamb was tasty and tender.  My friends me told me that the pasta was good (I am anti-seafood-with-creme so I could not taste it).

Dessert – 8.5/10.  I would highly recommend the creme brulee.  It’s actually really good.  The other desserts are good as well.

Overall it’s an ok deal.  At the very end we ended up spending 45$/person (we had wine and coffee).  If you have never been there and you want to check out the place then this is a good opportunity.    But I would rather wait for the 30$ menu to be abck. The food is much better and definity worth the money.

Third Floor Fish Cafe on Urbanspoon

Support my company! Get your super-charged wishlist and find a great gifts ideas at http://www.wishpot.com

Wishpot Link

Leave a Reply

