“Sogliola con vongole” in 10mins…

July 1, 2006

Tonight it was a hot and very summer evening!  I wanted to have something light, fresh and more importantly quick to cook.  I headed to the QFC close to my condo to grab some groceries for the next few days and the food section looked pretty good.  They had some “wild catch Dover sole” (we call it “sogliola” in Italian) and I thought to cook it with a few clams and fresh tomatoes.  I had what I was looking for:  Sogliola con vongole.

In Italy you would usually expect the sole to be cooked on the grill with a little drizzled olive oil.  Not bad.  Tonight I felt experimenting a little I wanted to use clams to give it a little extra kick.  It may just me, but especially with white fish you do need a little “some some” to give a little more character to the fish.

Ingredient list is very short:

  • one sole fillet
  • a few clams (I used four tonight)
  • one fresh tomato
  • garlic (one clove)
  • salt and pepper
  • some white wine
  • italian parsley
  • olive oil (extra virgin preferred)

This is a super quick dish and it really takes 10mins to cook the all thing!

  1. in a pan put couple of table spoons of olive oil and the garlic.  For one sole I used about half of clove. Of course you are free to add more or less.  Medium heat should do it.
  2. after the garlic starts cooking add the clams.  Give the clams about a minute to warm up, but make sure that as soon as they start opening you add the sole and the chopped freshed tomatoes.  This is what my pan was looking like at this point.
  3. At this point the sole is cooking. The clams should be open and they have released the sea water.  This is a good time to add a splash of white wine, the salt, the pepper (don’t be shy!) and a little parsley.  Make sure you turn the sole once.  pix here.
  4. After about 3-4 mins the sole is going to be cooked and the clams are cooked as well.  The dish is ready!
  5. Optional step:  after you remove the sole, clams and mussells from the pan you will still have some good stuff in there.  You could deglaze it using another splash of white wine.  Pour the outcome on the sole. 
  6. Your dish is ready!

Let me know what you think… 

6 Responses to ““Sogliola con vongole” in 10mins…”

  1. Carlo Says:

    …..chi cazz cunsij li penn di la Barill pi cucinà…!!!!

    Invec di cunsijà De Cecco…!!!
    Quanda si N’dund

  2. Elisa Says:

    Great looking site so far!! I’m just starting to look around it but I love the title page! Would you please also visit my homepage?

  3. Kathy Says:

    Amazing artwork! This is spectacularly done! Would you please also visit my homepage?

  4. Alfred Says:

    Hi! Your site is very nice! Please visit my homepage too:

  5. Chris Says:

    First time here on your site. I am delighted to find your wonderful website online. Visit my sites, please:

  6. Dwayne Says:

    One of the best locations I’ve come across lately!!! Definately a permanent bookmark! Please also visit my site:


Leave a Reply

